Comforting Chicken & Peanut Stew


I have the weekend off and a lovely fella to spend it with, so I feel like treating myself! I’m going to make Chicken and Peanut stew. It’s a lovely yummy dish full of goodness, super easy to make, and one of my favourites. I cook it when I’m feeling cold and glum and need some comfort. If you’d like to get in on the action you’ll need the following:

5/6 Chicken Thighs cut into chunks

2/3 Sweet Potatoes

1 White Onion

3/4 Garlic Cloves

3 Strips of Ginger

150g Peanut Butter

100g Roasted Peanuts

100g Chopped Tomatoes

1 Litre Chicken Stock

1 Tbsp Chilli Powder

1 Tbsp Cayenne Powder

Some Salt and Pepper to taste

I always find that the best food is made when slightly tipsy, so I’d also recommend a cheeky glass of prosecco to aid you in your cooking ventures!

  1) Cut the chicken into chunks. Salt the chicken then transfer to pan and brown in batches before setting aside. I also add mixed herbs and lemon for a fuller flavour but this isn’t essential.  

2) Fry the ginger, onion and garlic in the pan for three to five minutes.

  3) Add the chicken and sweet potato then add the remaining ingredients e.g. the chicken stock, tomatoes, peanuts and peanut butter. I know what you’re thinking, “Peanut butter? Really?” The answer is, “YES!!Really!!” The peanut butter helps to thicken the stew, the peanuts give added flavour and texture and the chicken stock binds the whole thing together. Trust me.         4)Turn the heat down and simmer your peanutty chicken concoction for half an hour or until the chicken and sweet potatoes are tender. Remember to taste the stew throughout the process, adding chilli powder and cayenne pepper as you see fit. I’m a West Indian girl so laid on the pepper pretty thick! I also think the contrast between the hotness of the chilli and sweetness of the peanut works really well.   5) Stir the stew constantly, adding peanut butter to thicken. If the stew is too thick, add more chicken stock and continue to stir.   6) Once the potatoes are tender its ready to serve. A good trick is to try to cut the potatoes with the side of a spoon. If it works, plate it up with fragrant rice and chunky bread on the side. I like to cut up some coriander and throw it into the middle of the stew for some colour. The stew has a gorgeous aromatic smell that will hang around your kitchen for hours.             Happy Eating   x

2 responses to “Comforting Chicken & Peanut Stew

  1. Could have at least wiped the dish clean before serving. Lazy Rayne.

Leave a Reply

